My First Cruise Vacation

27 Jun

Image

This weekend was my first cruise vacation.

I’m not a fan of anything that involves water (yes, I do shower every day…  LOL!) so I was a little hesitant at first to book this vacation.  On top of that, the cheapest one was Carnival, and with all the recent problems they’ve had, that added to my hesitation but, I really needed a vacation, this was turning to be fairly cheap, compared to our other options, plus I always have a great time with the friends I went with so I paid for it and here we go!

Arrived at the Miami Port, all smiles, passport and ID ready and in less than 20 minutes we’re in.  Received with the cocktail of the day and the friendliest staff I’ve ever met.

The first day we kept getting lost, going up and down elevators and stairs but this was part of the fun.  Doing this we found a room where they had Latin music.  After that first time, every time we heard Latin music we followed our ears to find these guys.   We danced for hours.

We got to see people doing Karaoke – you all know this is always fun – 2 comedy shows, and spent the late hours at the club dancing some more.

I also go to see the last NBA Finals game at their theater, and celebrate our Miami Heat win their second title in a row.  That was so exciting!!!!

Image

We stopped at Key West, walked around a little, got Henna Tattoos, and our other stop was Cozumel where we ate some authentic tacos with freshly made delicious tortillas, one of the best guacamole I’ve ever had, and the best of all, Tequila tasting.  We went to Hacienda Antigua where we got to try about 9 different Tequilas (Blanco, Reposado, Añejo, Cherry, Almond, Cream, Coffee, and more).  We ended the Tequila tour with a Margarita and on our way to the always fun Fat Tuesday right at the Cozumel Port.

 Image  ImageImage

Talking about food…  I was not one of those that goes on the cruise to eat but I do understand why some people do it.  Just with our first dinner when I had amazing Escargot, and that perfectly cooked and seasoned salmon I wanted more.  Every time we went to that dining room I would get excited to see options for the day.  All very beautifully presented and, again, served by the friendliest staff.  Plus all the food served at the breakfast and dinner buffets.  Wow!

 I wish I was still on that ship, sipping cocktails, meeting and talking to new people, dancing merengue, salsa, and yes, even bachata.  Laying by the pool, just relaxing, and watching the beautiful moon at night without having to worry about work the next morning.  Yes, vacations are the best!

Image

Leave a Reply

