All That Gossip…

3 Jun

I’ve always tried my best to stay away from the line of gossip and drama.

I did pretty good during my high school and college years…  I escaped it without even a “scratch” and I really thought that by the end of those years I, and everyone else, would be in the clear.  So imagine my surprise, and somewhat disappointment, to see more of this in my “adult life” than I did before.  It’s like a lot of people regress instead of “growing up”.

Why are people so interested in other people’s lives?  How does it affect you what they wear, drive, where they live, or who they date or don’t?

In my opinion, if you were happy with your own life this would not happen…  Then again, social media does not make the matter any easier, and this is coming from an avid social media user…  I do think it helps connect people, and keep long distance relationships but, when used to pry, criticize, and gossip, that’s when I have a problem with it.

Unfortunately, I’ve come to realize, it’s human nature to talk about others, but let’s think about it…  gossip usually comes from assumptions, of half-stories we hear, of someone wanting to harm someone else so, why take a part of it?  Why not show that we are better as human beings, ignore it and put an end to it.  That way you protect the person who’s being talked about, and the one spreading the rumors of becoming a worst human being.  Also, you protect yourself…  who is to say the next target of the gossip isn’t you.

The time you spend hearing and spreading rumors, should be spent on your own life.  Work on making yourself happy, find a hobby, read a book, forgive, love, live!  If someone wronged you, or hurt you, or if you think the “grass is greener” on that other side, let it go, trying to hurt them by gossiping about them hurts you as well…  all that anger, or envy, or whatever consuming feeling that made you start that rumor will eat you inside and will never let you be happy.  So, forget the past, and don’t be so concerned about other people’s lives.  Live yours, treat each day as if it was your first and enjoy it.   Live and let live!

Image

Leave a Reply

